Rating: 6.4/10
Label: Rotten Records
Lately, the North American metal scene has been dominated by “core” bands who mix hardcore with another sort of metal. “Deathcore” is a popular combination which features breakdowns and death metal. One group who falls under this catagory is Salt The Wound who released their debut, Carnal Repercussions, via Rotten Records.

Combining breakdowns and the speed of death metal, Salt The Would wrote 12 head-splitting tracks. Fronting the band, we hear alternations between low grunts, high shrill screams and the occasional pig squeal . One song, “Gannon”, features Abigail Williams guitarist Mike Wilson who rips a solo for the instrumental track. Overall, the songs lack in diversity as they follow the same structure but, they still kick ass. Carnal Repercussions is a good first step for Salt The Wound, giving them a base to learn from for future writings.

Track Listing:

01. The Beginning
02. Better Than This
03. The Conformist
04. We’ll Sleep Until Sunset
05. Gloves
06. Gannon
07. A Slight Burning Sensation
08. Peas And Carrots
09. Swear The Visine Is For My Allergies
10. The Rape And Pillage Of Spisville
11. Carnal Repercussions
12. The End

Run Time: 36:28
Release Date: February 5, 2008

Salt The Wound: Band Page
For Fans Of: Goatwhore, The Analyst, Aborted, Arise And Ruin
Reviewed By: CheeK