On Feb 10, First Blood will release their first album in 7 years, Rules, on their new label Pure Noise Records. It was produced by Will Putney (Body Count, Vision Of Disorder) at Graphic Nature Studios. See the cover art, track listing and the lyric video for “Rules Of Life” below.

vocalist Carl Schwartz said of Pure Noise Records: “Not only has Jake [Round] at Pure Noise been there and seen us during our earlier days back in the San Francisco Bay Area, but he has worked hard and created a tremendous record label that continues to make a huge impact in the underground music scene worldwide. We are proud to join the Pure Noise roster, excited to share our newest album with the world, and thankful for the new life. FIRST BLOOD RULES 2017.”

He also went on to elaborate on the album’s title and theme: “Rules are everywhere. Explicit rules. Unwritten rules. Unspoken rules. The rule of law. Some rules we accept. Others we hate or choose to ignore. Frequently, those who set the rules are found guilty of breaking those rules. Many have become victims of the rules they live by, either by conquest or consent. I hope that, after listening to this album and reading the lyrics, we can revisit and remind ourselves of the very essence of the underground music scene: Living our own lives by our own rules.”

Speaking on “Rules Of Life”: “We are often the product of the rules we are taught to live by. Growing up, someone I looked-up to once told me, ‘You wake up everyday. You go to a job you hate. You come home miserable. Then you go to bed. And then you do it again. And again. And again. And then you die. That’s life.’ For a while, I believed this was true. Now that I am older and have a son of my own, I wish for him to see things differently–to live differently. To him, I say “Have courage to stand on your own. Follow what you believe even when you’re alone. Be strong. Be proud. Be brave. Be a fucking rebel instead of a slave. See the world and follow your dreams. Wolfgang, this is for you. That’s life.”

Rules Track Listing:
01 – “Fuck The Rules”
02 – “These Are The Rules”
03 – “Rules Meant To Be Broken”
04 – “Rules Of Life”
05 – “Rules Of Conviction”
06 – “Rules Of Engagement”
07 – “Rules Of Justice”
08 – “Rules Of Survival”
09 – “Rules Of Freedom”
10 – “Rules Of Sacrifice”
11 – “Rules Of Government”
12 – “Rules Of Crisis”