On June 23, Goatwhore will release their new album Vengeful Ascension via Metal Blare Records. The CD was produced by with Jarrett Pritchard at Earth Analog in Tolono, IL with Chris Common mixing. Frontman Ben Falgoust offered: “Working with Rutan was awesome. We did some great records with him. But you come to a point where you’re like, ‘All right. Let’s try something new.’ It was part of trying to remove ourselves from a comfort zone and a risk thing we needed to take. Plus, we really wanted to hit the essence of where we are live and what better way to harness that than by having our live sound guy involved.

Jarrett is knowledgeable with the studio stuff. He also knows how we sound coming out of a PA and we really wanted to get closer to that. Pritchard really focused on that live aspect from every members’ perspective and I think he pushed us out of our personal comfort zones. He really understands our vision.”

Even though Vengeful Ascension isn’t a concept album, the unifying theme still runs through the songs, as Falgoust offers: “There’s that whole idea of Lucifer being the anti-hero. He’s cast out from this place in Heaven to the depths of nothing. He keeps trying to ascend to the top again but no matter what, there’s always this significant force trying to destroy him at any point and banish him back to Hell. If you look at it from an everyday aspect in life, it’s the idea of people, hitting the bottom of the barrel or you know, things just aren’t going right in life… emotion plays a huge part in how people react.

Whether it’s based on love or hatred or sadness or whatever, there’s always an aspect of emotion that drives people to an extent. So the whole idea of a ‘Vengeful Ascension‘ is built on being at the bottom, working your way to the top, and realizing along the way that there’s other facets to the journey aside from just pure retribution. Within negativity there can exist a positive angle as well.”

Vengeful Ascension Track Listing:
01 – “Forsaken”
02 – “Under The Flesh, Into The Soul”
03 – “Vengeful Ascension”
04 – “Chaos Arcane”
05 – “Where The Sun Is Silent”
06 – “Drowned In Grim Rebirth”
07 – “Abandon Indoctrination”
08 – “Mankind Will Have No Mercy”
09 – “Decayed Omen Reborn”
10 – “Those Who Denied God’s Will”